ALGO 2012
September 9-14, Ljubljana, Slovenia

12th Workshop on Algorithmic Approaches for Transportation Modelling, Optimization, and Systems 

Dedicated to the memory of Alberto Caprara.

The ATMOS 2012 workshop will be held in connection with ALGO 2012 in Ljubljana, Slovenia, on September 13, 2012.

Since 2000, the series of ATMOS workshops brings together researchers and practitioners who are interested in all aspects of algorithmic methods and models for transportation optimization and provides a forum for the exchange and dissemination of new ideas and techniques.

Transportation networks give rise to very complex and large-scale network optimization problems requiring innovative solution techniques and ideas from mathematical optimization, theoretical computer science, and operations research. Applicable tools and concepts include those from graph and network algorithms, combinatorial optimization, approximation and online algorithms, stochastic and robust optimization.

The scope of the workshop comprises all modes of transportation.

For all organizatorial information, please refer to the website of ALGO 2012.


12th September 2012

  • The proceedings have been published. They can be found here.

8th August 2012

  • List of accepted papers can be found here.

Invited speaker

Matthias Müller-Hannemann, University of Halle-Wittenberg, Germany

Important dates

Submission deadline (extended): June 28, 2012, 23:59 PDT  July 5, 2012, 23:59 PDT
Notification: July 27, 2012  August 3, 2012
Camera ready submission: August 22, 2012
Workshop date: September 13, 2012


We invite papers for presentation at the workshop on optimization problems for passenger and freight transport, including, but not limited to:

  • Infrastructure Planning
  • Vehicle Scheduling
  • Crew and Duty Scheduling
  • Rostering
  • Routing in Road Networks
  • Novel Applications of Route Planning Techniques
  • Demand Forecasting
  • Design of Tariff Systems
  • Delay Management
  • Mobile Applications
  • Humanitarian Logistics
  • Simulation Tools
  • Line Planning
  • Timetable Generation
  • Routing and Platform Assignment

Of particular interest are: the successful integration of several (sub)problems or planning stages, algorithms operating in an online/realtime or stochastic setting, and heuristic approaches (including approximation algorithms) for real-world instances.


Authors are invited to submit an extended abstract or full paper of at most 12 pages (a non-mandatory latex template can be found here). The paper should contain a succinct statement of the issues and of their motivation, a summary of the main results, and a brief explanation of their significance, accessible to non-specialist readers. Proofs omitted due to space constraints can be put into an appendix to be read by the program committee members at their discretion. Papers must be submitted electronically at The submission must be received by 23:59 (PDT) on June 28, 2012. Each accepted paper must be presented at the workshop by one of the authors.


Online proceedings are available in the Dagstuhl OpenAccess Series in Informatics (OASIcs).

Program committee

  • Teodor Gabriel Crainic, Université du Québec and Montréal, Canada
  • Daniel Delling, Microsoft Research Silicon Valley, USA (co-chair)
  • Daniele Frigioni, University of L'Aquila, Italy
  • Felix König, TomTom, Germany
  • Gilbert Laporte, HEC Montreal, Canada
  • Leo Liberti, Ecole Polytechnique, France (co-chair)
  • Marco Lübbecke, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
  • Frédéric Meunier, Ecole des Ponts ParisTech, France
  • Giacomo Nannicini, SUTD, Singapore
  • Carolina Osorio, MIT, USA
  • Christian Sommer, MIT, USA
  • Paolo Toth, University of Bologna, Italy
  • Eduardo Uchoa, Universidade Federal Fluminense, Brazil
  • Roberto Wolfler Calvo, Paris-Nord University, France

Steering committee

  • Alberto Caprara, Universita di Bologna, Italy
  • Alberto Marchetti-Spaccamela, Universita di Roma "La Sapienza", Italy
  • Spyros Kontogiannis, University of Ioannina, Greece
  • Rolf Mohring, TU Berlin, Germany
  • Dorothea Wagner, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Germany
  • Christos Zaroliagis, University of Patras, Greece