ALGO 2012
September 9-14, Ljubljana, Slovenia




The European Symposium on Algorithms (ESA) is one of the premier conferences on algorithms. The symposium covers research in all aspects of the design, analysis, engineering, and application of algorithms and data structures. ESA 2012 has two tracks: the Design and Analysis Track (Track A) and the Engineering and Applications Track (Track B).  ESA 2012 is organized in collaboration with the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS) and is a part of ALGO 2012.

ESA 2012 will be co-located with IPEC (7th International Symposium on Exact and Parameterized Computing, September 13-14), WABI (12th Workshop on Algorithms in Bioinformatics, September 10-12), ATMOS (12th Workshop on Algorithmic Approaches for Transportation Modelling, Optimization, and Systems, September 13), WAOA (10th Workshop on Approximation and Online Algorithms, September 13-14), and ALGOSENSORS (8th International Symposium on Algorithms for Sensor Systems, Wireless Ad Hoc Networks and Autonomous Mobile Entities, September 13-14), and MASSIVE (4th Workshop on Massive Data Algorithmics, September 13).

For all organizatorial information, please refer to the website of ALGO 2012.


17. June 2012

The notifications of acceptance have been sent. You can find the list of accepted papers at this link.


The symposium seeks original algorithmic contributions for problems with relevant theoretical and/or practical applications: papers with a strong emphasis on the theoretical analysis of algorithms should be submitted to Track A, while papers reporting on the results of extensive experimental evaluations and/or providing original contributions to the engineering of algorithms for practical applications should be submitted to Track B.

Invited speakers


Jiri Sgall, Charles University in Prague

   Open Problems in Throughput Scheduling


Yossi Matias, Google and Tel-Aviv University

    On Big Data Algorithmics


Papers presenting original research in all areas of algorithmic research are sought, including but not limited to: 

  •  Algorithm engineering
  •  Algorithmic aspects of networks
  •  Algorithmic game theory
  •  Approximation algorithms
  •  Computational biology
  •  Computational finance
  •  Computational geometry
  •  Combinatorial optimization
  •  Data compression
  •  Data structures
  •  Databases and information retrieval
  •  Distributed and parallel computing
  •  Graph algorithms
  •  Hierarchical memories
  •  Heuristics and meta-heuristics
  •  Mathematical programming
  •  Mobile computing
  •  On-line algorithms
  •  Parameterized complexity
  •  Pattern matching
  •  Quantum computing
  •  Randomized algorithms
  •  Scheduling and resource allocation problems
  •  Streaming algorithms.


Important Dates

  • Submission deadline: Sunday, April 22, 2012, 20:00 GMT (22:00 CEST, 23:00 IDT)
  • Notification: Sunday, June 17, 2012
  • Final version due: Sunday, July 1, 2012
  • Symposium: September 10-12, 2012 (Ljubljana, Slovenia)

Submission guidelines

 Authors are invited to submit an extended abstract or full paper of at most 12 pages and an optional appendix.

 Papers must be formatted in LaTeX, using the LNCS style file (available through the conference website). The maximum length of the paper (including references, but excluding the optional appendix) is 12 pages. Do not change the margin size or the font, do not make a separate title page, etc.: use the LNCS style file as given, but please do add page numbers, which can be done, for example, by adding


 just before


 Proofs omitted due to space constraints must be placed in an appendix to be read by the program committee members at their discretion.

 These guidelines are strict: papers failing to adhere to the guidelines (by not providing the omitted proofs in an appendix, being more than 12 pages, or not being in LNCS format) will be rejected without consideration of their merits. 

Papers should be submitted electronically via the EasyChair submission system:

  • For track A (Design and analysis) use the following link.
  • For track B (Engineering and applications) use the following link.

Simultaneous submission to other conferences with published proceedings, or to both tracks of ESA 2012, is not permitted. There will be a Best Student Paper Award, as well as a Best Paper Award.

The ESA proceedings will be published in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series by Springer-Verlag.


Each accepted paper will be allotted 12 pages in the proceedings.


Design and Analysis (Track A) Program Committee 

  •   Leah Epstein (chair),University of Haifa, Israel
  •   Matthias Englert, University of Warwick, United Kingdom
  •   Gregory Gutin, University of London, United Kingdom
  •   Pinar Heggernes, University of Bergen, Norway
  •   Martin Hoefer, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
  •   Jochen Koenemann, University of Waterloo, Canada
  •   Petr Kolman, Charles University, Czech Republic
  •   Kim Skak Larsen, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
  •   Asaf Levin, The Technion, Israel
  •   Alejandro Lopez-Ortiz, University of Waterloo, Canada
  •   Krzysztof Onak, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
  •   Dror Rawitz, Tel-Aviv University, Israel
  •   Guenter Rote, Freie Universitaet Berlin, Germany
  •   Andreas Schulz, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), USA
  •   Ola Svensson, EPFL Lausanne, Switzerland
  •   Marc Uetz, University of Twente, The Netherlands
  •   Carola Wenk, University of Texas at San Antonio, USA
  •   Peter Widmayer, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  •   Christian Wulff-Nilsen, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
  •   Raphael Yuster, University of Haifa, Israel


Engineering and Applications (Track B) Program Committee

  • Paolo Ferragina (chair), University of Pisa, Italy
  • Susanne Albers, Humboldt University, Berlin, Germany
  • Alexandr Andoni, Microsoft Research Silicon Valley, USA
  • Ioannis Z. Emiris, National Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece
  • Irene Finocchi, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
  • Johannes Fischer, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
  • Michael T. Goodrich, University of California, Irvine, USA
  • Herman Haverkort, Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands
  • Vahab Mirrokni, Google Research, USA
  • Gonzalo Navarro, University of Chile, Chile
  • Rina Panigrahy, Microsoft Research Silicon Valley, USA
  • Rajeev Raman, University of Leicester, United Kingdom
  • Jens Stoye, Bielefeld University, Germany
  • Oren Weimann, University of Haifa, Israel
  • Ke Yi, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China