ALGO 2012
September 9-14, Ljubljana, Slovenia

Workshop on Algorithms in Bioinformatics 2012



2. 8. 2012

Poster abstracts must be one or two pages long and must contain: the title; the authors and their addresses (including email addresses); a short abstract using 10 point font or larger and single line spacing.  A standard PDF file must be sent to, by Aug 10th, 2012. Authors will be notified about acceptance by August 15th, 2012.

 1.7. 2012

 Registration is now open. Please, register!


WABI 2012 will be part of ALGO 2012, hosted by the University of Lubljana.  It will be held from 10th till 12th of September, 2012 in Ljubljana, Slovenia. WABI is sponsored by the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS), and the International Society for Computational Biology (ISCB).


All research in algorithmic work in bioinformatics, computational biology and systems biology. The emphasis is mainly on discrete algorithms and machine-learning methods that address important problems in molecular biology, that are founded on sound models, that are computationally efficient, and that have been implemented and tested in simulations and on real datasets. The goal is to present recent research results, including significant work-in-progress, and to identify and explore directions of future research.


Original research papers (including significant work-in-progress) or state-of-the-art surveys are solicited in all aspects of algorithms in bioinformatics, computational biology and systems biology including, but not limited to:

  • Exact and approximate algorithms for sequence analysis, gene and signal recognition, alignment and assembly, molecular evolution, structure determination or prediction, gene expression, molecular pathways and network, proteomics, functional genomics, and drug design.
  • Methods, software, and dataset repositories for development and testing of such algorithms and their underlying models, as well as high-performance computing approaches to computationally hard learning and optimization problems.
  • Novel approaches to analyzing and modeling next-generation sequence data, including sequence assembly, population genomics, metagenomics, metatranscriptomics and ncRNA sequencing.

Call for Papers

Submissions must be formatted in LaTeX using the Springer LNCS style and must not exceed 12 pages. Each paper must contain a succinct statement of the issues and of their motivation, a summary of the main results, and a brief explanation of their significance, all accessible to non-specialist readers. All submissions must be made online, through the EasyChair submission system. You need to register on that web site before submitting; you may update your submission(s) up to the last minute. A standard PDF file must be received by 23:59 (GMT) on May 25, 2012 in order for your submission to be considered. In case of problems, authors may, by prior arrangement, email a PDF file to the chairs, Ben Raphael and Jijun Tang.

Simultaneous submission to another conference with published proceedings is not permitted, but simultaneous submission to a journal is allowed, provided that the authors notify the program chairs; if published in a journal, such a contribution will be published as a short abstract in the WABI proceedings.


Proceedings will be published in the Springer series Lecture Notes in Bioinformatics; papers will be allotted 12 pages.

Previous proceedings of WABI appeared in LNCS/LNBI volumes 2149 (Aarhus 2001), 2452 (Rome 2002), 2812 (Budapest 2003), 3240 (Bergen 2004), 3692 (Mallorca 2005), 4175 (Zurich, 2006), 4645 (Philadelphia 2007), 5251 (Karlsruhe 2008), 5724 (Philadelphia 2009), 6293 (Liverpool 2010), and 6833 (Saarbrücken 2011).

By arrangement with the Editor-in-Chief, selected papers from WABI will be invited for an extended publication in a special issue of the BMC Algorithms for Molecular Biology.

Key dates

Submissions deadline: May 25th

Notification to authors: June 19th

Final version due: June 29th

Workshop: 10 - 12 September, 2012 

Keynote speaker

Dr. Jens Stoye, Universität Bielefeld


Program committee

Tatsuya Akutsu  Kyoto U., Japan

Max  Alekseyev       University of South Carolina, USA

Sebastian  Böcker  U. Jena, Germany

Mathieu Blanchette      McGill University, Canada

Guillaume  Blin    Université Paris-Est Marne-la-Vallée, France

Paola  Bonizzoni       Universit di Milano-Bicocca, Italy

Daniel Brown   University of Waterloo, Canada

Philipp Bucher  Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (EPFL), Switzerland

Lenore Cowen   Tufts University, USA

Minghua Deng    Peking University, China

Pufeng Du      Tianjin University, China

Nadia El-Mabrouk      University of Montreal, Canada

Yue Feng    University of California, San Diego, USA

Guillaume  Fertin  University of Nantes, France

Liliana Florea  Johns Hopkins University, USA

Anna Gambin  Warsaw University, Poland

Olivier Gascuel         University of Montpellier, France

Katharina Huber   University of East Anglia, UK

Daniel Huson   Universität Tübingen, Germany

Carl Kingsford       University of Maryland, College Park, USA

Jim Leebens-Mack    University of Georgia, USA

Xinghua Lu      University of Pittsburgh, USA

Ion  Mandoiu         U. Connecticut, USA

Satoru Miyano  Human Genome Center, Univ. of Tokyo, Japan

Bernard  M.E. Moret      Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (EPFL), Switzerland

Burkhard Morgenstern     U. Göttingen, Germany

Vincent Moulton         University of East Anglia, UK

Luay Nakhleh         Rice University, USA

Macha Nikolski        U. Bordeaux, France

Ron Pinter  Technion, Israel

Nadia Pisanti         U. Pisa, Italy

Mihai Pop     University of Maryland, USA

Teresa Przytycka       NCBI, NLM, NIH, USA

Tal Pupko   Tel-Aviv University, Israel

Sven Rahmann         University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany

Ben Raphael         Brown University, USA (Co-Chair)

Marie-France Sagot   INRIA, U. Lyon, France

David Sankoff         University of Ottawa, Canada

Thomas  Schiex  INRA Toulouse, France

Russell Schwartz        Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Charles Semple  Canterbury U., New Zealand

Roded Sharan  Tel-Aviv University, Israel

Jingna Si      Beijing Forestry University, China

Joerg Stelling        Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich, Switzerland

Leen  Stougie         Free University Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Jens  Stoye   University of Bielefeld, Germany

Krister  Swenson         University of Montreal, Canada

Jijun  Tang    University of South Carolina, USA/Tianjin University, China (Co-Chair)

Glenn Tesler  University of California, San Diego, USA

Jerzy  Tiuryn  University of Warsaw, Poland

Lusheng Wang    City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Li-San Wang    University of Pennsylvania, USA

ChristopherWorkman         Technical University of Denmark, Denmark

Alex Zelikovsky      Georgia State University, USA

Ziding Zhang   China Agricultural University, China

Xiuwei Zhang   Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (EPFL), Switzerland

Louxin Zhang   National University of Singapore, Singapore

Meng Zhang   Jilin University, China